Posted in Daily Prompt

Daily Prompt: Criticize

Image result for criticize clip art

via Daily Prompt: Criticize

I see the word criticize and I immediately recoil. I usually hear the word criticize used negatively, which is why it puts such a bad taste in my mouth. However…

My feelings about the word are a bit all over the place. Like my opinions on near everything, it depends on the situation. Constructive criticism is great. Personally, I’m always open to constructive criticism. I think the trick in being the giver of such criticism is to wait and have it asked of you. People are too quick to give their opinions about others’ choices and, well, there’s also the issue of people who give unhelpful advice. Again, for me, I don’t mind constructive criticism with or without my consent; I can easily weed out what’s actually constructive and what’s not.

With all that said and done, I feel like human beings generally love to criticize things. I know I do it more than I’d like over the littlest things (e.g., the food at restaurants). It’s akin to gossip in a lot of ways. It often suggests hints of superiority (or inferiority) complex hidden behind dialogue. In a lot of ways, I see criticism as part of human nature–not the best part either–but nonetheless human. Most of us do it.

Someone I know majored in film and is, naturally, a big movie buff. He can never criticize a movie. He knows how many people it took to put a film together; the time and hard work spent editing, casting, etc. I, on the other hand, have no issue grilling a movie and giving it a “rotten tomato.” Just another perspective I thought of.

In the end, I’m not sure how this word makes me feel, which means I can’t properly criticize it. The irony.

Author:

Twenty-six-year-old post-grading rapscallion.

Leave a Reply

