Posted in Goal-setting, Life

My Morning Routine: The Good, The Bad, The Ugly

So, if any of you remember, one of my New Year’s Resolutions was to–essentially–become a morning person. I will break down, a little over mid-way through the year, how that’s been going:

THE GOOD

My morning routine, as of late, looks like this:

  • Wake up at 6:00am
  • Declare my daily affirmation, “This is going to be the best day ever!”
  • Breakfast, including a cold glass of water and caffeine (a must)
  • Read that day’s daily meditation from a book my very good friend gifted me called “Journey to the Heart: Daily Meditations on the Path to Freeing Your Soul” by Melody Beattie (I also highlight the day’s date and a sentence or two I connected with when I’m finished; they are very short little passages)
  • Practice meditation for ~10 minutes (currently using Calm, but Head Space is good, too, as well YouTube)
  • Write my Morning Pages (my favorite part of my morning, besides my caffeine)
  • Declare another daily affirmation, “Love, serve, and remember. Remember what? Remember to love and serve.”
  • Read a chapter of a book, read a passage of scripture

I love this routine! Morning Pages creates a way for me to write out my feelings upon waking, as well as jot down my To-Do List for the day and a brief Gratitude List as well. Just thought I’d elaborate a bit on that.

THE BAD

Originally, I was trying to use Hal Elrod’s The Miracle Morning routine, which looks similar to what I’m already doing. The truth is, though, I just wasn’t ready to commit all those months ago. It felt so overwhelming and daunting. AND, I tried easing into it. If this experience has taught me anything, it is that easing into it does not or has not ever worked for me. It’s cold turkey, all or nothing. Eventually, I just gave up and went back to waking at various times in the morning with no routine at all besides eating something. Another huge learning hurdle? This routine is impossible without caffeine. That was not emphasized enough in Hal Elrod’s approach. Caffeine is LIFE. There is no way in hell I’d be able to do this without caffeine. When I was student teaching and subbing, I didn’t drink coffee most days and I have no clue how I got through in the morning. I was a total zombie, that’s how. For some reason, I wanted to reject caffeine because I thought it was bad. A horrible drug, which I would only indulge in later in the afternoon when I was crashing and came in the form of soda (completely illogical, I know). I make sure I drink a glass of water and some type of caffeine in the morning with my breakfast. Never again will I not drink caffeine in the morning. There’s just no way I could personally do it.

THE UGLY

I’ve only been consistently doing this for two weeks now, and recently fell off because of a trip to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter at Univeral Studios Hollywood (amazing, mindblowing, a dream come true) for my best friend’s birthday where we stayed out super late and my body was physically drained. And once you’ve fallen off? Y’all, it’s hard to get back on. Consistency is key. In my early 20s, this routine would never have been possible, which is probably why it never happened. Nothing was consistent. Going out almost every single night, coming home in the AM hours. That was my life for two years or so, and even after that, it continued that way just with less frequency. I’m at a time in my life where I can actually make this change because life isn’t as “spontaneous” or, let’s get real, batshit crazy no-fucks-given as it used to be. I love it. I loved it how it used to be, too. Right now, though, consistency is a must. Yet there will be nights you don’t get to bed before 11 or 12, and that’s okay, but it is hard to readjust.

At the end of the year, I will update how it’s going again. Hopefully, back on track the majority of the time. It’s hard, but it is so worth it. The feeling I get in the morning, where it feels like you’re awake before anyone else? Seriously…it is one of my favorite feelings. Everything feels more beautiful. It is life-changing.

 

Author:

Twenty-six-year-old post-grading rapscallion.

Leave a Reply

