Posted in Beauty

My 2016 Skin Care Routine

One of my goals for 2016 was to develop a set skin care routine. I’m twenty-five, but I’ve only recently started thinking about taking skin care seriously. It’s not like I’ve noticed a wrinkle (yet), but the idea of having a set routine has been brewing in the back of my mind for a while now. Some of the products listed are ones I’ve been using for quite some time and others are new. Overall, I’m really happy with the products I’m using, but I’m always on the lookout for suggestions!

Avalon Organics, how I love thee! Their products can be found at your local drugstore in the United States and at great prices (and they’re all-natural, bonus points!) I started using their Intense Defense with Vitamin C Cleansing Gel two years ago and never looked back. I dread waking up in the morning and splashing water on my face, but this stuff makes it a little more bearable. I use it every single morning. Another item I just added to my routine is their Wrinkle Therapy with CoQ10 & Rosehip Cleansing Milk. This stuff is amazing! The cleansing milk really feels like watery lotion and it leaves my skin feeling super moisturized. It’s one of their newer products and I’m planning on using it for a long time. It’s become a favorite. I use it each night.

Cetaphil Dermacontrol Moisturizer SPF 30, 4 Fluid Ounce

This is a new moisturizer I’ve tried and really like. I really like it because of two things: 1) My skin is frustratingly both dry and oily (but at different points in the year) and it does a good job despite being an “oil control” moisturizer during the dry points and 2) It is SPF 30. Woo! I used to use a moisturizer in the morning (the same I used at night, mentioned later), but it lacked SPF. I use a face primer with SPF 15 and a foundation with SPF 6, but I knew I wanted better protection from the sun. I pat this all over my face and neck after washing my face and using toner. I have dry skin during the winter months (e.g., around now) and I was hesitant about buying this lotion because of the “oil control” factor. For the first two or three days my skin did look and feel drier, but after using it for more than a month it really isn’t drying and instead my skin feels moisturized (this happened around day 4). I also like that it doesn’t have a sunscreen smell (and I love the smell of sunscreen, but it’s a little weird to smell like sunscreen at work). To top it off, it isn’t greasy! Big score! I don’t know if that’s because it’s an “oil control” formula or not, but that’s what I was hoping for and my face stays matte all day. I only use this on my face in the morning.

Clarifying Lotion 2

I’ve used Clinque’s Clarifying Lotion 2 toner ever since I was a teenager. I rarely if ever moisturized my skin but I’d use this toner after swiping off make-up dutifully. I’ve only ever used two toners, this one and the one mentioned later that I use at night. I’m not sure if there’s anything better out there, but it does its job well and leaves my skin feeling fresh and ready for moisture.

Okay, facial brushes are where it is at. Nothing has changed the way my skin looks and feels more than adding a facial brush to my skin care routine. I started using Olay’s Pro-X brush years ago. I’m still using it today. I can’t imagine not using one now, especially as someone who wears make-up every day. If you do not have a facial brush, go out and treat yourself! So worth it. I have never used anything other than Olay’s brush, but I have no complaints. It’s way more affordable than the ever-popular Clarisonic and that’s why I’ve stayed. Although, I really, really want the Forea Luna Mini (all rubber means no bacterial growth and no brush replacements!) One word of caution: It says you can use the brush in the shower, do not use it in the shower!

Detail Image

Detail Image

Detail Image

Detail Image

Korean skin care is having a big moment in the United States. It’s everywhere (just Google “Korean skin care” and you’ll get what I mean). Being half Korean, I guess I should have foreseen this. My mom has always been big on taking care of your skin. She’d tell me to wear SPF every day when I was younger (I thought she was crazy and didn’t listen, of course). Atomy is a Korean skin care line that is both affordable and a bit weird to access. It’s sold by individuals or stores in bulk through word-of-mouth, but can be bought from their website and Amazon (although you have to buy a set). My mom buys it in bulk for her and her friends including me (not as a business venture, but because she really likes the product). I only use four of the plethora of products they offer (side note: I really dig their toothpaste, too). I apply the toner, eye cream, and lotion at night (they suggest both morning and night). I use the foam cleanser to wash my face of make-up. The foam cleanser is so great. I use a small squeeze to go over my face once and another small squeeze to go over it twice with my Olay Pro-X face brush. The three moisturizers leave my skin feeling exceptionally moist but not clogged or oily. One tip: When putting on the moisturizers be sure to lightly pat them in, never rub them in. This also goes for drying off your face! When it comes to the eye cream, use your ring finger to apply a thin layer around the eyes to minimize movement. I’ve been using Atomy products for over two years, but not consistently (laziness). I can tell the difference between using them consistently versus every few days and I plan on keeping up the habit.

Glycolic Foaming Cleanser

This is something I use once a week. It’s a glycolic foaming cleanser that exfoliates skin. I love this stuff because it is so gentle on my skin. Most products that exfoliate have micro-beads in them that would end up irritating my skin and only made me feel like my skin must be cleaner because I scratched off a layer of it. Mario Badescu is also sold in Anthropologie stores (I just found out!) I used to use this sporadically versus every single week (per the directions). The days I use this I feel a bit pampered. Another thing I like about it is that a little goes a long way.

That’s the round-up as of now! I’ve been staying true to this new regiment since the tail-end of December and it’s working out great. My skin feels constantly moisturized and generally feels and looks healthier. I’m hoping the long-term effects of my anti-aging routine will pan out the way I’m hoping! Only time will tell. 🙂

 

 

Author:

Twenty-six-year-old post-grading rapscallion.

Leave a Reply

